2021 Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy

Last Saturday saw the final of the popular Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy at the Newmarket Links Golf Club. The course was enveloped in fog on arrival at 8:00 am but this soon cleared and the weather was good for the rest of the day.

Cambridge Country Club, formerly Bourn Golf Club, were taking on Saffron Walden, the beaten finalists from the last time this event took place in 2019. Clubs from all around the County had been battling it out since early summer, trying to reach the final of this popular event.

previous arrownext arrow

The final comprised of 3 matches of 36 holes foursomes with one match being played in each of the handicap index ranges of 4.5 to 10.4, 10.5 to 14.4, and 14.5 to 20.4. All 3 matches are played off scratch with no shots being taken.

The 1st match comprised of Simon Hodgson and Paul Boag of the Cambridge Country Club and Mark Harvey, the current Captain of Saffron Walden partnering David Grayston. After 18 holes the CCC pair had opened up a 4 hole lead.

In the 2nd match, the pair of Paul Wisbey and Andrew Wisby of Walden, never really got into their stride and were 6 down at lunch to Spencer Webster and Miles Darling.

The 3rd match was a similar story, David Copeland and James Circuit racing to a 6 up lead after 18 holes against Phil Collins & Adam Burt.

After a good lunch, Saffron Walden were unable to turn the 2nd and 3rd matches around and ran out losers by 7&6 and 9&8 respectively.

The 1st match however saw Walden rally and pulling the deficit back to 1 hole which was the final result with Cambridge Country Club winning 1 up and the Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy by 3 matches to nil.

Congratulations to team captain Mark Lydon of Cambridge Country Club, who was presented with the trophy by CAGU Vice President Alan Duggins. Commiserations to Mark Jones, the team captain of the Saffron Walden Club who will be hoping it is 3 rd time lucky next year.

Many thanks to the Links GC, Newmarket for hosting the final and providing superb food between rounds and after play. A special mention for the 3 referees Steve Kane, Alan Todd and Alan Duggins for walking around 36 holes with each.

The draw for the 2022 Jock Stewart Memorial Trophy will be made early next year.